Entries:
Most Recent
Previous
Next
All

Last Five:
- moving
- this is how i feel
- stoats in winter coats
- receptionists are uncaring and the government is evil
- withdrawal

Other Stuff:
Profile
Notes
Email
Host

save the internet!


stoats in winter coats

Wednesday, Mar. 02, 2011 | 11:59 PM

I am at david's place (of course), and he is working on a project that is due tomorrow, so I will pass the time by writing. We are listening to amnesiac, which is totally weird and creeps me out a little bit. There's morning bell from kid a, and then there's the amnesiac morning bell. the amnesiac version sounds like you took the kid a version and melted it.

So here's some news. My parents are no longer living in portland. They finally owed too much in rent to continue living where they were living, and unable to find a place that would allow them to keep whiley (my big 80 pound dog), they had to move out to my uncle's place in kelso, washington. He has a five acre lot out in the middle of nowhere, where cell phones don't work and the internet has to be dial up. Apparently they have an extra �house� there for my parents to stay in. I put it in quotes because there hasn't been a bathroom or kitchen installed yet, but I guess they are working on that.

I am SO glad that I moved out before this.

On the plus side, there is a creek running though the property, and they have chickens and goats and their own very sweet dogs. Whiley, being an australian shepherd mix, can now run around off leash in a nice big open space. It turns out that he's one of those good dogs that will follow you as you walk around the property, and come to you when he's called. So now my dad likes him.

The down side is that my dad now has to drive an hour and half each way to work and back.

So my mom wants me to call her, but I have to call their house phone, which is unavailable right now, because she is apparently using the dial up internet. So I guess I can't call her.

Hmm... what else should I write about.

I really like stoats in their winter coats. Haha, that rhymed.

I really like stoats
in their winter coats
all weasely and white
digging in the night
through the arctic snow
with a dark brown nose
and jet black eyes
so beady and wise
a coal-tipped tail
disappearing down the trail
chasing after rabbits
and little spotted quail

ahem. So yeah, I like white stoats, which are also known as ermine. I guess people at first thought the animal in its brown summer coat and the animal in its white winter coat were two different animals. Another name is short-tailed weasel.

There's your random animal fact for the day.

I asked david what I should write about now, and he said, �you should write about fishers.�

you're probably thinking this kind of fisher:

but i'm pretty sure he meant this kind:

it's another member of the weasel family. It lives in north america and actually doesn't eat a lot of fish. And i'm not really interested in writing about it. I don't think it's as cute as a little stoat.

...

We have some baby bunnies at work. The shelter took in a tiny netherland dwarf mother and her four babies. They said the babies were one week old when we got them, but from my baby bunny experience, I would say they were closer to two weeks. About a month after their arrival, montana (the mother) started making a nest and had another surprise litter. The breeder that she was taken from must have bred her again right after giving birth, which is not a nice thing to do, because it gives them no chance to rest between litters.

The babies are ultra cute though. I'll post pictures soon.

In other news... I need to take a shower.

Yeah, I wasn't planning on ending that sentence with, �i need to take a shower,� but while I was trying to think of an ending to that sentence, I decided that I need to take a shower.

So I guess i'll upload this now.

...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ ..................

<< / >>