Entries:
Most Recent
Previous
Next
All

Last Five:
- moving
- this is how i feel
- stoats in winter coats
- receptionists are uncaring and the government is evil
- withdrawal

Other Stuff:
Profile
Notes
Email
Host

save the internet!


this God stuff

Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2008 | 3:37 AM

i decided that i should really get working on this life story (so far) and finally finish it up. so instead of writing something here for you folks out there to read, i'll just share with you a tiny bit of my story for you folks out there to read. it needs some editing though.

...

Even when I was little I was searching for something. Something meaningful, something fulfilling, something I could grasp onto. I was told a little bit about God when I was young. I never doubted that there was a God, I just didn�t know him. I knew in the back of my mind that I should probably get to know this God that I heard of, and ignoring this made me feel guilty. There were times when commercials for Christian worship music would come on the TV, and I would change the channel because of the guilt it made me feel.

When I was fourteen, during the summer after eighth grade, I decided that I wanted to go to a summer camp. I wanted to be around others my age that weren�t from my school, so they wouldn�t know of my reputation and I could actually talk. I was hoping to possibly make friends.

I chose a camp called Eagle Fern, because it was the only one in the area that had horses. When they sent us a little information packet about it, I found out that it was a Christian camp. After realizing this, I almost didn�t go. I was afraid everyone would be all �religious.� Something told me to go, though, so I did.

I was very scared when I first got there. I was afraid that the other girls would be mean, like they were at school. I was surprised as people began talking to me, and seemed very nice. I was also surprised when I realized that they were going to sing twice a day. It was a lot of those same songs that I heard on those commercials. This time, I couldn�t change the channel.

After they sang, a lady named Sue would speak for awhile about things from the bible. On the second day, as I sat listening to her, I thought to myself about how I was stuck in this situation for a week. I decided that maybe it was time to listen up and pay attention to this God stuff. So I did listen, and I met Jesus there for the first time.

On the third morning, I woke up feeling very annoyed. I wasn�t liking camp life. I wasn�t liking never having any privacy, and I hated getting up early. As everyone got up and got ready to down to breakfast, I stayed in bed. I refused to move or open my eyes. I was hoping that they would go on ahead without me, and then I would actually have some privacy while getting dressed. My plan almost worked. They did leave, but one counselor, Kendra, stayed behind and waited for me.

When I was ready, we walked down to the lodge. Everyone else was doing their silly �morning exercises,� and we sat down by the lodge and waited. A kitty walked by, and I petted it, as she asked me, �Can I tell you something?�

I nodded.

She said, �I don�t know what your home life is like, and I don�t know why you shy away, but I know that God loves you so much, and he thinks of you as his little girl.�

...

and now i'll leave you hanging here.

...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ ..................

<< / >>