Entries:
Most Recent
Previous
Next
All

Last Five:
- moving
- this is how i feel
- stoats in winter coats
- receptionists are uncaring and the government is evil
- withdrawal

Other Stuff:
Profile
Notes
Email
Host

save the internet!


i'm learning math from an idiot

Wednesday, Jul. 15, 2009 | 8:59 PM

after my bad experience in class last thursday, i went on monday and tried to sit at the empty table again. she insisted, again, that i move to my assigned table. that night, i sent her an email:

This is Sarah from your Math 60 class on Monday - Thursday.

I do not understand what is wrong with just sitting, listening, and doing my work in class. Clearly you have not taken my social anxiety seriously. Perhaps you do not know much about this misunderstood disorder. I invite you to learn more at http://socialphobia.org/

I am not paying for this class to be forced to become a tutor for other students, nor am I paying for this class to be tortured. If I even tried to help the other students, my mind would simply go blank from the anxiety. I cannot keep coming to class and feeling very stressed as I attempt to pay attention and do my work, while constantly being threatened with forced social interaction. I cannot learn under these circumstances.

If I will not be allowed to sit quietly by myself, mind my own business and simply sit and listen during class, I am afraid I will have to drop the class.

she replied:

Sarah,

I am disappointed that you do not enjoy the group participation portion of the class. Interactive activities tend to improve understanding and retention of material. Nevertheless, I do not wish to see you drop the class.

Ten percent of your grade for this course is class participation. If you have been diagnosed with a medical condition that precludes participation in group activities, I will take this into consideration when calculating your grade. However, you MUST furnish me with a clinician's letter. Naturally, any documentation provided will be kept strictly confidential.

apparently she can't take me seriously. i might be lying about having an embarrassing mental problem.

after begging my mom to make me an appointment with the doctor, she finally agreed. she can't afford it, but i doubt this lousy excuse for a teacher would care about our financial problems.

i didn't return to class on tuesday. i had stayed up late the night before, and i couldn't get myself to get out of bed for something so miserable. i later regretted it, because i never miss class.

i went back to class today. i sat down at the empty table, as she came over and asked me if i had "what was requested."

"not yet," i said.

"then you have to go sit at the other table."

"i'll have it monday."

"well until you have it, you have to sit at the other table. it's the class rules."

i sat there and wondered if i should move to the other table, or just leave the room.

"otherwise i'll have to take off points."

"fine," i said.

i got to stay, but was punished by losing points.

can you believe this!? for a math teacher, i would hope that she would have some sense of logic in her head, but instead she is like a mindless rule book.

...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ .................. ...................... .......................................... ............................................. .......................... ....................... .......................... ................................................... ................................ ..................

<< / >>